Questions for OpenTTD Developers

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

schitzn
Engineer
Engineer

Questions for OpenTTD Developers

Post by schitzn »

Hey Guys/Gals (if any),

Firstly, thanks to all the developers for their efforts in OpenTTD. Ive been a Chris Sawyer fan since I got TTDLX back in I think 96ish, and have been using OpenTTD since the 0.4 days, but I've never engaged in these forums, so now I am, my first words are Thanks!

Im a long time programmer, although mostly application programmer, and have been working on my own 2D Isometric gaming engine on and off for a number of years. Ive really been nailing into it over the last few months and my aim is to replicate the main game engine of Rollercoaster Tycoon/Locomotion. So far, its coming along very well, I have completed the Window and Interface system and is looking/functioning exactly as RCT. Im currently recoding (again) the actual mapping renderer and look forward to polishing it up and dumping a release for any other Sawyer interested fans to look at. Im not sure where Im going with it, hence why Im purely designing the core mapping/ui/window/blitting/game logic system which offers the ability to take the project in different directions.

I have a few questions of how implementations are done in OpenTTD for things I will be implementing but not entirely sure the best strategy...

1. Character Sets for fonts / Language Character sets